Different Types of FSSAI Licenses: Which One Do You Need?

The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) is responsible for ensuring the safety and quality of food products in India. If you’re involved in any food-related business, whether you’re a restaurant owner, a food manufacturer, or even a home-based food entrepreneur, obtaining an FSSAI license is not just a legal requirement but also a testament to your commitment to food safety and consumer well-being.

But here’s the question: Which type of FSSAI license do you need? FSSAI offers different categories of licenses, each tailored to specific business sizes and operations. In this comprehensive guide, we’ll delve into the different types of FSSAI licenses, the eligibility criteria for each, and how to determine which one is right for your food business.

Understanding the Basics: What Is FSSAI?

Before we explore the different types of licenses, let’s start with the basics. The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) is the regulatory body responsible for formulating and enforcing food safety standards in India. Its primary aim is to ensure the safety and quality of food products available to consumers.

FSSAI achieves this goal by:

  • Setting standards for food products.
  • Regulating the manufacturing, storage, distribution, sale, and import of food products.
  • Promoting food safety awareness and education.
  • Licensing and regulating food businesses.

Now, let’s delve into the various categories of FSSAI licenses:

1. Basic Registration (FSSAI License Type A):

Eligibility: Basic registration is suitable for small-scale businesses with an annual turnover of less than ₹12 lakhs. This category is ideal for home-based food businesses, small eateries, and local food vendors.


  • Simple application process.
  • No need for a food safety management system plan.
  • Suitable for businesses that have minimal food processing or handling.

2. State License (FSSAI License Type B):

Eligibility: If your food business has an annual turnover between ₹12 lakhs and ₹20 crores, you must apply for a state license. This category is appropriate for medium-sized food manufacturers, restaurants, and food distributors.


  • More comprehensive documentation and compliance requirements.
  • Mandatory Food Safety Management System (FSMS) plan.
  • Applicable to businesses with moderate food processing or handling.

3. Central License (FSSAI License Type C):

Eligibility: Large-scale food businesses with an annual turnover exceeding ₹20 crores must obtain a central license. This category is essential for food manufacturers, importers, and exporters operating on a significant scale.


  • Stringent documentation and compliance standards.
  • Compulsory Food Safety Management System (FSMS) plan.
  • Applicable to businesses involved in extensive food processing, manufacturing, or export.

How to Determine Which FSSAI License You Need:

The key to selecting the right FSSAI license lies in understanding your business’s annual turnover and the scale of your operations. Here’s a step-by-step guide to help you determine which license is suitable for your food business:

Step 1: Calculate Your Annual Turnover

The first step is to calculate your food business’s annual turnover. This figure represents the total income generated by your food-related activities in a year. Include all revenue sources related to food, such as sales, distribution, and any applicable taxes.

Step 2: Evaluate Your Operations

Next, evaluate the scale and complexity of your food business operations. Consider factors such as the volume of food processing, the size of your establishment, and whether you import or export food products.

Step 3: Match Your Turnover and Operations with the License Categories

Now, match your annual turnover and the scale of your operations with the appropriate license category:

  • If your annual turnover is less than ₹12 lakhs, you qualify for Basic Registration (Type A).
  • If your turnover falls between ₹12 lakhs and ₹20 crores and you have moderate food processing or handling operations, you need a State License (Type B).
  • If your annual turnover exceeds ₹20 crores, or you operate on a large scale with extensive food processing, manufacturing, or export activities, you must obtain a Central License (Type C).

Step 4: Complete the Application Process

Once you’ve determined the appropriate license category, complete the FSSAI application process. This involves submitting the required documents, including identity and address proof, photographs, and the Food Safety Management System (FSMS) plan if applicable.

Step 5: Prepare for Inspection (if required)

Depending on your license category and the nature of your food business, you may need to prepare for an inspection by an FSSAI official. Ensure that your premises and processes comply with food safety standards.

Step 6: Receive Your FSSAI License

Upon approval of your application and, if applicable, a successful inspection, you will receive your FSSAI license. This license is a legal document that signifies your commitment to food safety and quality.

Step 7: Display Your License

Once you receive your FSSAI license, it’s mandatory to display it prominently at your food business premises. This not only fulfills a legal requirement but also builds trust with your customers.


Obtaining the right FSSAI license is essential for any food business. It ensures compliance with food safety standards and regulations while also building consumer trust. By accurately assessing your annual turnover and the scale of your operations, you can determine which type of FSSAI license is suitable for your business. Whether you’re a small home-based food entrepreneur or a large-scale food manufacturer, FSS

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *